File TXT tidak ditemukan.
More Plates More Dates on TRT, How to Burn Fat, Build Muscle & MAXIMIZE Your Energy
7MzRwisf3ps • 2023-04-29
Transcript preview
Open
Kind: captions Language: en when I was at my most sexually vital and excited about life mid-30s I was lean had a decent amount of muscle at least for me and really felt good my question is though do you think if you had a gun to your head did I feel awesome because I was lean and had a decent amount of muscle or did I feel awesome because my testosterone was higher than it is now in my mid-40s and what I'm trying to figure out cuz at some point I am going to do trt but so far I've done nothing I haven't even gone out of my way to naturally optimize my testosterone but I feel like I'm getting to the point now where I need to start really thinking about that and so I'm just curious between those two um for a guy of any age if you needed to make them feel like life is worth living would you optimize testosterone or would you optimize physique that's tough to say cuz when you say leaner two that could be not conducive to opal testosterone levels too because I know a lot of people in the fitness industry for example young guys in their 20s who are trying to make a name for themselves and go viral and stand out they'll literally walk around at 6 7% body fat year round and they look great and their ego is inflated and they get all the compliments and they think it's you know the best thing ever but their testosterone levels are like 200 whoa yeah they're like literally hypogonadal at 21 years old Jesus yeah from being lean or from yeah like calorie deprivation excessive cardio like their body isn't essentially start starvation mode perpetually there's definitely like a balance to be had where you could try and keep your hormones as ideal as they can be well let's say that I did the blood test and I slide it across the table what's the first thing that you would look for you know that the person sliding it across the table saying I want to feel awesome yeah you go to what what are like the to three things that you're going to look at okay I guess from the neurological side and muscle building potential side I would be looking at free testosterone in particular which would be the freely circulating Androgen that dictates muscle growth if I was to be looking for signaling to actually determine if you were truly hypogonadal or not and needed something like trt I would be looking at they're called gonadotropins which is the signal from your pituitary to your testies to actually make intratesticular testosterone so that would be lutenizing hormone and follicle stimulating hormone would that go down if I'm on trt those would go to nothingness interesting yeah like they would be subclinical and show that you're entirely deficient because you would be using an exogenous Source like pinning exogenous testosterone which would then tell your brain we don't need to make anym uh genotropin because we don't need to Signal the testes to make any more testosterone or have spermatogenesis either and that is where fertility rates can decline from using exogenous testosterone as well and then from there that's where you get the testicular atrophy from using steroids super interesting okay so that was to what's the third thing that you would look at maybe like fasting insulin just to see how insulin sensitive somebody is I've seen you talk about this on your show multiple times but it's kind of like your body's ability to actually utilize nutrients effectively and actually like get glucose into muscle and if you are having resistance to getting the actual energy into cells you were going to have issues actually being an optimal functioning human and maximizing muscle growth and all of these things it's interesting so glucose has been my obsession but now as I start thinking about what what's that next level for me as I get older I really start to think about trt uh and for people that don't know testosterone replacement therapy so is that do you just look at numbers is in a blood test is that an age thing like how do you if you're working with somebody how do you help them decide is it ability to put on muscle what's the determining Factor ideally it's a hybrid of symptoms and biomarkers however I'm sure you've probably met a guy in your life who had some unreasonably I don't know like crazy genetic predisposition to gaining muscle but then on their blood test it's not necessarily reflected in well how come their testosterone level is only 500 or 600 and I'm not more jacked and I have an 800 like it doesn't always work that it's just you have more test equals more muscle than the next guy it's also you know receptor sensitivity density gene expression subsequent to that like there are a lot of things that play into it so it's not always down to just the number cuz hypothetically you might need more testosterone than the next guy to achieve the same functions from a like physiology perspective like you might be able to get away with a 400 total with a free that is 2 to 3% of that and feel totally fine have a perfect libido be a vital human and have nothing going like seemingly wrong whereas another guy might have a 600 or 700 and have symptoms of low te because he either needs more or too much of it being bound up by binding proteins because of his lifestyle and or Diet model or what have you um so it kind of depends like ultimately it would be dictated by you know are you waking up with morning wood do you still have a good libido how is it compared to you know in your most vital period of life you know comparing to your mid-20s or whatever um assessing muscle growth potential like that is kind of a metric that could be used like if you notice your body composition is suddenly declining despite you seemingly having the same routine that you've always had that would obviously be like a pretty good factor to keep into account um but on blood test typically you're going to see the manifestation of low te in that's signaling to your testes or if you actually had it's called primary hypog grism is when the testies literally don't respond to those signals and that's like where trt becomes the most warranted in general can you spike the gonadal signaling or do you have to go like if it's low or it's present but you're not getting the release of testosterone is there something that you can do to to boost that signal yeah so the signal to your testes is all based on a feedback system so it's your body determining okay we don't have enough testosterone and estrogen to facilitate certain functions in the body so we have to make more but it's going to be dictated too by energy intake Sleep Quality macro and micronutrient intake not just your protein carbs fats but also the micronutrients you're taking in the quality the foods you're eating all those things are massively impactful on what that signaling capacity will actually be so it doesn't always boil down to oh you were just too lean too like if you were following a diet that was totally deficient in fat or deficient in zinc um magnesium like what have you like certain things that are very uh more heavily proportionately contributing to testosterone production these things can have very negative downward pressure on your pituitary output of these hormones and down the line or Downstream to that prevent you from making as much test as you could so as far as like what you could do to spike it a lot of the same principles that I'm sure you preach regularly on this channel about uh you know lifestyle practices sleep hygiene diet quality a lot of people Overlook problems with sleep though with things like sleep apnea is very common and men like a lot more prevalent than people are aware of and they think they sleep oh I'm in bed for eight hours and I'm sleeping but the quality is atrocious so stuff like that is uh very impactful so if I want to put on on more muscle which I do but not so my thing is is honestly we were talking about this before we started rolling your time is finite you can only allocate your energy to so many things you're going through that now with content creation versus actually building businesses um I have the same with building a business and building my physique and so I always tell people you can tell how much I care about physique by looking at me I'm not overweight uh but I'm also not jacked because it just took so much time and energy to do that um so I would like to put on more muscle I don't want to be in the gym 2 hours a day 6 days a week um and I know at your Merit Clinic you guys aren't just like hey get on trt like you guys are pretty thoughtful but so first I want to know it should one put off trt as long as they can minus like symptoms that would require that like when I heard Rogan say that he started trt in his 30s I was like whoa I I would continue to push it off lest you tell me otherwise um well the thing with it it kind of of because again you could go by the standards of the medical community or even kind of the more vague interpretation of optimization at all kind of depends on what is important to you so hypothetically if you wanted to push your body harder than even replacement you could just take full-blown steroids if you wanted to and it's kind of but why wouldn't we because I'm assuming you don't recommend that or do that's the thing is because when you're saying should I push off trt it's kind of like well if you're planning on getting it on it eventually how much do you care about forer right now um zero okay so that's one in favor of the trt side um then you would look at your actual signaling to your testes and how adequate is it or inadequate and also what is your your actual response at the organ itself and then you can kind of dictate well is it deficient horribly deficient like where do I stand on that Spectrum to actually get me to how I feel right now because again you have a lot of pillars of Health that are super dialed that are also supportive of you you like potentially being right on the brink of feeling not great like I don't really know where you stand on that Spectrum but everything is contributing in some facet to some degree and trt maybe it takes you up to the top of that Spectrum maybe you're on like some guys are teetering on like the brink of like being subf functional in terms of not uh having a high quality of life it kind of depends so as much as I would love to say you know wait 5 years or wait specifically this amount of time it would very much depend on a lot of context about your own individual situation all right so deciding when to do trt really comes down to if it's not disrupting my life if I'm sleeping well if I feel good if my in fact check me if any of these are the wrong things to look at if my libido is high enough if I have sort of that you know zest for life I feel driven I'm still going probably not the time to do it probably not so if I want to start adding muscle and my tea were deficient because if that's not today it's going to be a day soon how do I approach this do I want to take testosterone directly do I want precursors how do you go when somebody comes to you and is like hey I've tried sort of all the um basic stuff how do I now accelerate this personally for me it would be like a full-blown analysis if they're actual diet quality which could involve like there's there's programs that you can use online like uh there's one called chronometer you can just plug your diet in it'll show the actual micronutrient density of what you're eating like how many vitamins and minerals of each there are in the food J reading and then from there you can actually pinpoint if you have a real deficiency that is contributing or not um and then B that's where targeted supplementation could actually be warranted rather than just blindly taking a bunch of stuff um so there's that and then assessing your what are some basic supplementation like what's a common yeah vitamin D huge um do you advise that through sun exposure or through supplementation depends on vitamin D man because it's like modern day is it the most conducive to vitamin D that perhaps than it was hundreds of years ago it's kind of I don't really know what the answer is to that but all I do know is I see a lot of low vitamin D statuses these days and it's very very prevalent and a lot of the working environments and lifestyles are very anti-c conducive to getting enough vitamin D from outside so and some people it's just like literally where they live so maybe supplementation is warranted says the man from Canada yeah I have to use vitamin D myself yeah no I can imagine I'm assuming sleep is in there as uh one of the basics do you consider working out as a way to spike testosterone yeah it's kind of like uh I fig what called the Goldilocks zone or I don't know what the the terminology is but basically too much of it could be the opposite of helpful but too little also not going to be helpful too so having you know like a good resistance training routine where you were focused on trying to progressively overload and gain strength rather than just fluff workouts going through the motions kind of stuff um is and that's more important than cardio um for muscle certainly for and muscle is going to increase my test more than yeah building uh good muscle focused body composition is the most conducive to that for cardiovascular Health having like ultimately these are things that shouldn't be should I do one or the other like you should be doing both ultimately so um both are going to be helpful but I would say making sure at minimum you're getting in your heavy lifts for the week the most important of the weightlifting do you consider heavy a rep range thing yeah like uh in general it kind of depends on what you are going for though cuz some people you know they're powerlifters and they are prioritizing strength over hypert so the range will differ for them but in general like standard 8 to 12 rep ranges using weights that you're not going to go to complete failure on your first set but by the last set you're hitting failure on the last rep kind of thing and then trying to progressively overload and add a pound or two every single workout and focusing on that keeping a very regimented log book too A lot of people will just do the same exercis and the same weights for years on end and then wonder why their physique doesn't change but they have not been tracking anything when they could have been otherwise microloading every single time they go in the gym like there are literally like 0.5b increment plates you can buy on Amazon that you can just chalk on if 5 lbs is too high of an increment which is a problem at some gyms like you have to at some point you're going to plateau and at that point is it reasonable to add five pounds every time you show up no you're going to be you know stuck spinning your wheels a bit and that's where using micro increments or going up by rep you know doing another rep on the on the set instead might be a goal but I found those like 0.5b plates really really helpful what about so your ize your duration of working out I assume you've been working out since teens or 20s yeah so for me what I found was I I got to the point where there were just I it was always a battle between I'm trying to get my weights to go up but I keep getting injured have you given how long you've been at this are you still like heavier lifts more reps or at some point do you go yeah this is the weight that I do and I'm just going to stick here yeah for me I have prioritized other things over body composition for a while now like I still Jaz not nearly as much as I was but I also it would be unreasonable for me to expect to have maintained my lifts at what they were because I used to use reasonable amounts of steroids whereas now I don't use those so um for me though I've just uh I try to progressively overload when I go in the gym still um and track uh with a log well it's not it's a app not a log book but you can use a book or an app if you want um but yeah I still try to focus on the same principles but it's certainly it's not the same weight that I was using back in the day but it is the same principles applied and still trying to make progress because if you're not trying to make progress in the gym like you're not giving the adequate stimulus to tell your body okay you need to actually grow to support this load because at some point it gets used to what you're doing and then you need to actually tell your body hey you know this is an increasing Demand on muscle so build more say support it because you can't do it right now so how do you I mean you're big like maybe not bodybuilder big but you have very robust which I'm sure comes across on camera even hiding under your sweater over there um so how much time do you have to put in to maintain it like for somebody that really wants to build a physique what are those straightforward principles that you're still deploying maintaining is magnitudes easier than gaining muscles which I guess is sort of something people can look forward to is as much as it seems like a daunting task to build a bunch of muscle once you're there actually retaining it is not that difficult um or at least I don't think so given that you're not using a bunch of hormones to support it um so for me typically I can maintain my physique on just like a few days a week um ideally four days a week is kind of my schedule now an hour in the gym in and out uh any more than that our gym how many days a week four days yeah and for me that's just a classic split of you know chest shoulders back another day is arms and legs um I think I don't think I'm missing anything there um calvs on legs as well um if I came in during your workout would I think you were trying to kill yourself no I don't think so interesting yeah it's kind of like the minimum minimum effective volume I can do to maintain what I have is what I do because I also get my mental bandwidth sapped when I go really hard in the gym MH so if I was allocating priorities to gaining muscle and trying to build my physique up my volume would look different and higher than it does at just maintenance amount when you were adding the muscle if I had seen you work out would it look like you were trying to kill yourself maybe when I'm going to failer on the last set of each exercise but I still do that on were you like a guy that was like screaming in there two hours a day what did that look like I think that's a common misconception that you need to be in there for hours a day six seven days a week like even for a bodybuilder who's a professional and is taking copious amounts of steroids they would probably not be in there seven days a week for two hours interesting yeah because at some point you're just doing so much damage to the muscle you're never recovering like yeah it's called Junk volume when you're just going above and beyond what you need and it's almost like anti-h helpful that's interesting so where is The Sweet Spot you get a guy he's a total dweeb what do we do so uh let's start Natty and then maybe we'll we'll Veer in a second but so starting him off Supernatural but we we need to get this kid jacked no [ __ ] around we have 18 months to do it so one how many pounds if we he does whatever you tell him he eats what you tell him he sleeps when you tell him he micronutrients all of it this kid is religious he does exactly what you tell him to do what is that going to look like for him like what do we what do we start him off with probably figure out what his maintenance calories is which is how much he needs to eat to not either gain or lose weight 2000 okay so that's super low but anyway let's just say you need a number yeah so 2,000 it's probably going to be closer to 3,000 really what yeah for maintenance for a guy who's exercising regularly and is Young this is because he's going to work out yeah if you were just sedentary and doing absolutely nothing then you're just basically expending energy for your like movements sitting down like your fidgets and stuff which is a lower calorie amount I think it's called a non exercise or non-activity exercise thermogenesis or something it's like your neat calories it's how much you're going to expend just by functioning as a human and then on top of that is all your activity which you then factor in for your caloric intake what's the average person 21y old guy what's the average 21 year old guy uh I think when you if they are working out and exercising their maintenance might fall between like 2700 to 3,000 wow yeah okay so our guys at that let's say but now we're going to get him in the gym how many days a week I would start with four probably Monday Wednesday Friday Sunday so every other day would be fine interesting yeah okay so now we get him in the gym are we using your split which you said was back CH sorry shoulders chest back what did you do on back day back it was just back yeah it kind of for me just back or back buys I do just back but really do you get buys their own day or do you treat arms on the same day one day your mix is weird walk me through it again again it would depend on what your weak points are so if it's a newbie it's totally different for me like for example my shoulders are my dominant body part so I just shove it at the end of chest a and I barely because your shoulders grow easily yeah and they maintain easily too so I don't really put that much volume into them so for me it's a dictation of my weekly volume based on how much I can actually allocate before I'm fatigued and then I distribute that volume accordingly based on the body parts that need more attention so I have a terrible chest so I do more on chest versus delts I barely touch them so for a newbie I'm angry with you right now I just want to I want the record to reflect well maybe you have a better Gest your shoulders are beast mode Okay Okay so we've we've got the kid it's every other day yeah we're going to allocate his energy based on what he sucks at for now it's like figuring out what he sucks at is impossible if he's never done it so I would just do like basic you know the compound three lifts you know bench squat dead lift I would allocate those to you know squat on your leg day dead lift on your back day bench breast on your chest day and then you know fill in other complimentary exercises depending on you know I would probably start him on really low volume to begin with and then see how much he can handle um is it so fatiguing that it's like affecting his next workout where he's not performing as well and you kind of like micro adjust from there but starting with just you know a few really strong exercises like it's not rocket science you do like three to four sets of each eight to 12 reps whatever you can handle but actually the thing is is sometimes coaches will need the clients to send videos of doing the exercise because their interpretation of what going hard enough is actually not going hard enough so me just telling him to 8 to 12 reps like I don't actually know that he's going hard enough I think a good Target is by the last set of that exercise you are hitting failure by like the tail end of that set so like your last rep is almost impossible for you to do and you need to spot her essentially should you be able to walk out of the gym normally if you're leg day or should you on your first leg day ever you will be a [ __ ] for a week you can reboot your life your health even your career anything you want all you need is discipline I can teach you the tactics that I learned while growing a billion- Dollar business that will allow you to see your goals through whether you want better health stronger relationships and more successful career any of that is possible with the mindset and business programs in Impact Theory University join the thousands of students who have already accomplished amazing things tap now for a free trial and get started today yeah but that's just cuz it's a virgin muscle not the first time I so I very consciously went from I don't work out to I work out like a demon yeah and ah no one gave me that warning and so I put photos of Hugh Jackman this is like PQ Jackman Wolverine okay I've got him plastered everywhere I'm going to look like Q Jackman I'm going all in so go in go so hard that if I sat in a chair for more than five minutes when I would get back up I would have to stop stretch before I could walk again it was Unreal but that became my Benchmark I didn't want to get that far because that that actually made it hard to move um but I remember one time at the end of a workout so this is I was very poor at the time and my driver side car door didn't unlock so you had to unlock the passenger side door reach across and unlock the driver side and I had just done chest and chest shoulders tries which I would do on the same day and I put my arm down on the seat to reach across to unlock it and my arm just it like gave way and it fell in my face and I was like that's when you know you've worked out hard enough or was that stupid and that was just we're now into it's moving me backwards yeah I think it's kind of hard to say oh you went too hard to a newbie because they're super sore on day one I think that's kind of expected but they don't need to do as much as almost anyone else who has been actively doing it for years because such a little stimulus is needed to achieve growth at that point that you can get away with much less volume at the start and still get your newbie gains going so it's kind of like you know there's no magic number um but um yeah if you walk out on your leg day like honestly after three sets of squats on your first leg day ever you're probably going to be sore even if you're a newbie if you actually like went close to failure that's just expected from a virgin muscle so I wouldn't read too much into it unless you were literally doing like I don't know 20 sets of body part or something that would be way overkill for a newbie um if they were just start well maybe not way Overkill kind of depends on again how hard are you going on those sets right so he's only got 18 months though so Ball Park me if 20 is probably too many sets per body part what is the he's doing what Derek tells him to do yeah I think um maybe like again this is just like a ballpark number but maybe like 60 sets a week and then the last allocating those between the four workouts and again like the split if it's two 60 sets per week per body part total split across how all the days and if that was too intense for somebody too they could technically split one of those days into another day in itself like chest and shoulders a lot of people they need their shoulders or their chest not like some supporting body parts might be fatigued that otherwise would warrant separating that body part into a separate day like for you obviously triceps are not going to do as well by the time you get to them after you've done a bunch of bench breaths and stuff so for a newbie after he's hit his you know failure set on bench and then you tell him to go do what's his like main compound tricep exercise that he might be doing maybe he's doing if he does a close grip bench breast or something like good luck you're going to get zero out of that because you're so destroyed at that point so that's where you know a separate arm day might make sense so how you split that up again like there's so many free programs online from people who are reputable in the space with uh work programs and whatnot so um I think it's pretty easy and accessible to find that now but ultimately like 60 70 sets a week if you can handle it 80 but like I think that'd be a good starting point and just separating that across four or five days depending on how you want to do the split if you want to have a you know a separate shoulder Day from your chest day or not it kind of depends again on your time and whatnot but um and then yeah just going into failure in your last exercise of uh the set and it's uh not that complicated and make make sure you get your body weight and protein per day in grams um and if it's not that complicated why do so few people have physiques um because I think a lot of unrealistic standards are putting being put out there by people in the industry that walk around you know with 200 total T's who are natural that maintain these absurdly low body fat percentages and then also guys who were on steroids and you know are very forthcoming or not forthcoming about the why would that make so I'm going to I'll give a counter argument they're lazy okay so put it this way you thought the Hugh Jackman 2001 physique was great ask anyone in the fitness industry if that was good they'd be like that guy's skinny fat yeah not kidding okay interesting but let's take this headon so I don't think it's bad role models I think it's laziness you think it's unrealistic expect why would that stop somebody from getting a physique because they give up yeah I just think there are a lot of there's a lot of skewing of what people see as a good physique now as opposed to I think they could achieve the huge Jackman 2001 naturally and with you know most people could probably do that it's just there is so much saturation of Fitness industry physiques now that it has anyone who's kind of following that I don't know niche of content and maybe it is a bit more of a subsection so maybe it is only a certain subsection of people that have the work perception including myself but it certainly is inflating what is perceived to be good so I think again the people who aren't achieving somewhat assembl so we're arguing about the word good yeah uh which is all subjective yeah yeah yeah okay so fair but I will say I very quickly got into a bodybuilding universe so I know the most like distorted physiques ever and I remember one time coming into work and showing my partners like I want to look this guy on the cover of whatever uh body building magazine uh I was like I want to look like this and they were like guaranteed that guy's Photoshop they're like there's no Universe in which even with drugs that somebody has a chest that bubbly and but even that like having something to aim at having something that excited me so much the idea of being able to one day look like that even though there was no Universe in which I was ever going to get there because it was Photoshop probably steroids plus Photoshop like really like extreme extreme it still was EXC in and so it got me to go into the gym and so when I look at the people that I love that and especially when I used to be leaner and bigger people used to come up to me all the time like what do you do what do you eat all that and I was as natural as they come which is why my physique was Me by most people's like a high level guy be like this guy's a joke he's [ __ ] tiny and he's fat uh but I felt really good and so people would come up to me a lot what do you do how do you eat like how do you get that physique and my answer was always like it's pretty basic in terms of like getting lean and getting big or two separate things so let's make sure we separate those out I first got muscle and then I leaned down and I did it really stupidly and nobody should take my advice but you can I'm walking around with the results so that is what it is but my thing was like the only hard part here is actually not eating the thing that you want to eat and then actually doing the Reps and being willing to be like oh I think I'm about to throw up so if you can do that like you're going to get the physiques yeah I would argue that you probably don't need to work to feeling like you're throwing up though as well so maybe that might even be putting people who are completely new hearing you say that they're like oh like no chance I'm doing that now maybe on like a heavy squat or a leg press I'm certainly wasn't asking myself that every day I'm too lazy for that yeah so yeah like honestly there is a most people that don't have the physique that is the peak of their genetic potential is out of lack of willpower and adherence to something consistently ultimately so it's not like oh I'm not going to work out because of this insane expectation I would never reach it's also laziness too but it depends on the person I was just saying you know the the celebrity goal physique is often times unattainable because it's not realistic interesting so we'll get to that in a second there's something I want to ask you about that specifically but first do you regret doing hardcore steroids no because it made me very aware of my health and learning more about optimization and skewed me in the direction I am now which is a lot more uh it's not necessarily longevity focused because again circling back to the first discussion we had about should you take trt or not there's like absolutely something to be said about if you wanted to push your body as long as you're aware of the give and take relationship of the pros and cons of it you don't necessarily have to do anything within the confines of what is socially acceptable so if you were wanting to take a [ __ ] ton of steroids like you you could it would just be unhealthy but there is potentially some level of well maybe I want to push my body a little bit and maybe it takes a couple years off my life but maybe the quality of life is significantly better via this so for me it's uh I don't know I try to gauge these things in a more what I deem to be realistic way because I want a high quality of life too so I I feel like I've experienced the aggressive polar extreme of I am deteriorating my body for this extreme outcome that is basically just cosmetically pleasing and is inflating my ego and then on the other side of the spectrum I'm very aware of the longevity research and the anti-aging stuff be as frail and gaunt as you can until the last day you die but you live to 100 so great [ __ ] job I want to kind of meet in the middle that's where I'm at so having that I don't know the education or learning about both sides has been very helpful and educational to me personally and I think helps me impart that knowledge on I don't know the people who are interested that follow my stuff but do you is do you think there is a moral case against people doing steroids like do you have no problem hey you understand this going to shorten your life a little bit but hey if you're good I'll walk you through how to do it well like are you unconflicted you give that advice or is there a little like well there's obviously some Nuance especially now that I have a tele medicine platform and things like some people might think oh he's trying to like promote taking hormones via the clinic or like I I feel like I'm pretty I've remained unbiased in that even from the business side of things like I would prefer people get the full context of their situation before they hap azard jump on hormones cuz for us like we make money on services and blood work education of our patients not necessarily just here's a script of test and ask result this that get out the door and we'll just make our money on the medication like that's not how we do business so for me it's always been about the education and I don't really care what people do as long as they are educated about it ideally before they go into it like when I was younger and I started taking gear steroids I wish I knew a lot of the stuff I know now in hindsight and that is kind of the I don't know manifestation of a lot of my content is stemmed from my experiences with that and what I wish I knew and education you wish you knew back then what do I wish I knew yeah um mainly the impacts on the cardiovascular system um that that it deforms the heart yeah it's uh morphology and function like the shape size function of it all can be very significantly impacted from basic negligence on something as simple as your blood pressure not being modulated or assessing it like some people don't even check it and little bit walking around like stage two hypertension perpetually because the drugs they're on and then they end up with a heart attack at you know 35 years old or younger I've seen people dying in their 20s Jesus from that well indirectly but it's because of the downstream effects of that so and the problem too is when I first started bodybuilding and getting heavily into learning about performance nancing drugs and whatnot there was this sentiment that went around the industry like where are the bodies and it wasn't very documented who's dying because it was not very highlighted social media wasn't really like prominent and it just really wasn't talked about that much and typically the only people that get reported on that die are big names in the industry so a lot of people like bodybuilding wasn't like a mainstream sport anyways if you can even call it a sport and it just wasn't really being noted and you often times couldn't attribute a death solely to steroid use anyways because if somebody dies at 40 it's like oh genetic predisposition or this or that and it's like well yeah but the steroids plus the genetic predisposition make it way worse so yeah it's uh stuff I wish was more uh it's the problem though is that education didn't exist too so it's you know I wish I had it but it wasn't really readily available as well so that's kind of where I think now is great because people at least who are jumping into this stuff have education at their fingertips for free letting them know know hey this is the reality of this stuff if you're going to go down that path and it's not risk-free and here are the very real manifestations of risk profile that you could expect in the coming years and if you're going to do it anyways how to try and attenuate that risk as much as you can why does it piss you off when people lie about steroids doesn't really piss me off I just think it's like disingenuous and often times it kind of depends on the person in the context but if you're trying to sell a product or service that is marketed around your physique and then you are heavily implying that it is solely your workout program or solely your the coaching or whatever it's like yeah these things are obviously the underpinnings of how you built the physique but like you also would be 30 lounds lighter if you weren't on steroids so I feel like there's an obligation to at least give that context like hey by the way this is also in the equation for me and this is why I look the way I do cuz it could otherwise be misleading if you're this guy walking around who's this Larger than Life Persona and people are trying to Aspire to be like and you're also selling workout programs or what have you and then you are or supplements or what whatever it is and you were not being transparent and forthcoming about hey like this is what I do but I also do this other stuff which is massively impactful on the end outcome would you have full respect for uh an influencer coach whatever that that was like okay here here's my workout routine I hope you sign up it's going to be amazing uh here's the gear that I take and uh I've got here you know 30 people that have taken my course they're all natural you can look at their results not as cool as me because I'm on the gear so I look way better would you be like yeah [ __ ] yeah or would you still be like oh God there's gear involved and even though he's being honest it's just not as cool no it's fine as long as you're just again it's like realistic expectations if you're marketing it as if you are representing your out end outcome as an expectable and repeatable process when it's just not without hormone augmentation that's where it gets murky if you're an enhanced guy and you just have good information on diet but you don't talk about your drugs too like I don't really have a problem with it necessarily it's more when you're representing an outcome that is tied to something you're lying about is more the issue so often times you know it's kind of irrelevant to me personally okay so now my real question that all this is pre amplitude do you think it's cheating in sports if people do um performance-enhancing drugs if it's against the rules of their sport like it depends like Brazilian jiu-jitsu for example rampant steroid use but it's kind of unspoken that the majority of people are just using drugs they can it's that is like the most finicky conversation in that sport because it's technically not banned via you're not getting tested but it's also somewhat frowned upon if you're you know the Gearhead and maybe not everyone else you know if if you if you're natural and you're competing against guys on gear like obviously you're going to think there's an uneven playing field in a sport that is actually regulated and tested according to water standards or whatever it is yeah like cheating is cheating so it's just a very very prominent thing that still Happ you wouldn't like the double standard so it's like uh nobody's getting tested still think maybe it's not ideal because it it isn't like you know what people are doing or you know what the rules are so it still could create an uneven playing field definitely hated in a sport where they say you can't and so if there are people that are finding a way around it that's really shitty so I'm all for a world where uh we just say hey that we have these exogenous substances that people can take and instead of drawing a line I just want it to be out in the open yeah and so that there is no double standard so that people can decide whether they want to do it but like for take something like BJJ or cycling and I'm not an expert man and so who the hell knows like how many people actually do it or not but for me hearing that oh yeah everybody's doing the blood doping or whatever in the tour to France I don't go oh now the tour to France isn't cool I go damn like these guys go hard like they're taking their blood out of their body they're hyper oxygenating it they're putting it back in and it's like I might say I think that's pretty dumb because of the high risk and like the odds of you dying are just astronomical but man I want to see I want to see humans push themselves now I get though that what I'm saying like hey that walks a line do we want kids emulating that do we want to put that out there so is there like is this just Tom not having thought enough about it or is it like hey once you get into the professional leagues let people push themselves it's tough man because it's like I don't think there's a definitive answer to that and many debates could be had about it I think that sport is entertainment at the end of the day so it comes down to a debate as to well if you want to make it as entertaining as possible obviously s Everyone to the gills that would be the logical answer if you wanted the max entertainment factor and then it comes after that it's like well do you want to be encouraging drug use among the youth to then aspire to be like fill-in the blank professional athlete you know if they're going to be getting paid this much is that something that they should just take that risk in order to get that outcome I don't have the answer man it's interesting it's interesting cuz yeah I I definitely don't want to encourage kids to do it that one really scares me yeah um but at the same time when you get into the professional leagues so many people are doing it I would rather just see like what's the truth of what people are doing so obviously the Conor McGregor thing is utterly fascinating he's allowed to step out of the testing pool and as long as he gets tested for 6 months he can come back in now I don't know [ __ ] about like steroid use but it looks like he's probably yeah uh been doing something he sort of admitted as much indirectly seemingly and my thing is I don't have a beef with that yeah me NE I you know if it's conducive to his injury recovery and it gets him out there quicker like if it's within the confines of the rules like go for it I think just a lot of people I don't know if he became aware of this rule through like his connections or whatnot or like finagling it in some special way that he was kind of given more leniency or if it's just you know his location it makes it more problematic and harder to test them because they have to Outsource people who test on behalf of usata in Ireland who really knows but you know at the end of the day there's hormone use in seemingly all sports yeah yeah it's interesting even as I'm giving my own answer it you can like hear yourself say and then almost debate against yourself yeah well so the thing the the right question is do you want kids doing that and that I definitely do not especially because you get parents that want to see their there was a kid that I went to middle school and high school with now I don't know him well enough to I would certainly not say his name in case I'm wrong about this but what I heard was that he was on steroids now when I say this kid had density of muscle at 12 I'm talking it was Unreal and that always worried me that if that was true that that was pressure from his parents and wasn't I just can't fathom how at 12 how do you even get steroids but he he was a freak and um he he was I think he was like 5'8 and he could high jump seven feet it was unreal unreal and so that that worries me that he has potentially if it's true done you know longlasting damage and I have to imagine that parents were involved yeah I remember tons of guys in my high school that would take year for really yeah is that just because you're so young it seemed so yeah for football trying to get a good uh scholarship to a college or university that is going to get them further in their aspirations and you know it's uh pretty obvious when somebody shows up to gym class and all of a sudden he can bench 50 more pounds within six weeks Jesus yeah that's interesting now BJJ guys don't see I don't pay enough attention but I don't think a BJJ guys is having physiques so are they doing it for Recovery or are they all jacked and I just don't pay enough attention body weight is very very important for moving people around and again I'm not a BJJ expert by any means but obviously if you're a heavyweight the more muscle you have on the easier you can in part and like get that is that broken down into weight classes yeah but there it's there's deviations between them and ranges so obviously if you're at the top end of your weight class it's more ideal than being at the bottom or the middle and the more you can push a guy around and use your weight to your advantage hugely impactful obviously Force production hugely impactful too on anything to do with manipulating somebody else's body who's fighting against you um oxygen carrying capacity significantly increased when you're on androgens really yeah there's a lot of benefits from it like you could like it stimulates the release of epo as well thp R thr potin so like never heard of that really it's like the main drug used by cyclists or it was anyway when I say this is not my world I F the precursor to actually making new red blood cells yeah so increasing your oxygen carrying capacity in sport obviously like broad spectrum beneficial in essentially anything you're doing with the exception of like I don't know archery or something and there's drug use in that too beta blockers for what anxiety if you can slow your heart rate and calm down way easier to shoot a Target wa yeah and if you use certain beta blockers that cross the bloodb brain barrier like Propranolol you can actually like very significantly calm yourself down and get like an an anotic like anti-anxiety effect so it's uh very common among public speakers um pianists also using it interesting yeah a lot of people use beta blockers drugs worry me but at the same time I'm not like if I needed a drug I would take a drug I'm just trying to limit the number of times that I need a drug whether it's Tylenol Advil anything I try to limit the amount but that's from a longevity standpoint not from a like I want to see people perform at their best see it's interesting though because it's like there's definitely something to be said about some genetic risk factors are so aggressive and unique that pharmacology may be the only way to attenuate your risk for longevity purposes so if you had familial hyper cholesterolemia for example are you going to avoid taking a cholesterol or lipid modulating medication yes okay but am I wrong I mean maybe here's the thing I I don't I'm not coming from a place of superior knowledge I'm coming from a place of paranoia and so I'm just like oh I get it but like whenever people take drugs there are second and third order consequences that we're not thinking about and so that's the thing that worries me I don't have a a moral compunction with it but it's like if I can avoid it it's just weighing the ROI so it's like is whatever benefit I could get out of the drug going to outweigh the potential side effect burden even in the trt side of things especially the side effect burden that we don't yet understand yeah that's the one that worries me thing though is is some people have genetic predispositions that you know you're not functioning correctly if you have a complete deficiency in the production of an enzyme for example are you're not going to take a drug that might facilitate this function because I want to be natural like I feel like that would be potentially moronic that would be moronic in my estimation yeah anything where I felt like it was impacting the quality of my life or if I really believe like from a longevity standpoint I'm actually going to live longer based on the well in fact I was going to say based on my you know genetic limitation or problem or whatever but do you know much about Rapa yeah okay so Rapa I there were people real
Resume
Categories